Scarletuser.com
 

Go Back   Scarletuser.com > Scarlet DSMC > Scarlet General Discussion > Scarlet FIXED Lens System Discussion

 
 
Bookmark and Share Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2010, 11:15 AM   #1
StarCoreProductions
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 19
Default Can the Scarlet 2/3" Fixed Lens be upgraded to Interchangable Scarlet?

Just curious if I go fixed will I be stuck with fixed permanently.
StarCoreProductions is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 11:24 AM   #2
Zac C
LEader of something kEwl
 
Zac C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UT/MA
Posts: 1,407
Send a message via AIM to Zac C Send a message via Skype™ to Zac C
Default

in the Nicest way possible...


Fixed is Fixed... Forever
__________________
Zac C is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 11:55 AM   #3
mbeck
Native
 
mbeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 760
Default

But all your accessories will work on the other versions. So if you end up needing to upgrade, you can sell just the brain and get a new interchangeable brain.
__________________
-Michael Beck
mbeck is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 12:18 PM   #4
David Rasberry
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Easley, SC
Posts: 3,150
Default

Or keep the fixed brain and add a second brain either 2/3" cinema model or the S35 model with fast prime lenses. Think of the fixed as your zoom.
David Rasberry is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 01:13 PM   #5
StarCoreProductions
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Rasberry View Post
Or keep the fixed brain and add a second brain either 2/3" cinema model or the S35 model with fast prime lenses. Think of the fixed as your zoom.
Wish I could do that. Not that wealthy yet.
StarCoreProductions is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 01:23 PM   #6
JonFairhurst
Native
 
JonFairhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 1,349
Default

You can invoke the fixed to cinema conversion process at http://ebay.com
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
~ The Murder of Dirk Snowglobe ~
JonFairhurst is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 04:11 PM   #7
NoahK
Native
 
NoahK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 523
Default

Haw- yeah it can easily be converted to cash which can then be used to buy the upgrade to another camera.

Noah
__________________
Learn indie filmmaking at www.CallBoxLive.com featuring the Sony EX1 Guidebook and Panasonic HVX200.
Panasonic GH2 and GoPro HD Hero!
Check out my book: RED: The Ultimate Guide to Using the Revolutionary Camera.
NoahK is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 08:28 PM   #8
StarCoreProductions
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonFairhurst View Post
You can invoke the fixed to cinema conversion process at http://ebay.com

Well, I am very familiar with Ebay. I guess that is a good option, but not as good as it being upgradable since I'd have to take a loss.
StarCoreProductions is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 04:24 AM   #9
David Rasberry
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Easley, SC
Posts: 3,150
Default

Keep in mind that you would not find a decent new servo zoom lens of similar range speed and quality to the one on the fixed for less than about twice the cost of a fixed brain complete. So budget wise it is a smart choice.
David Rasberry is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 07:34 AM   #10
Jared Caldwell
Ocular Moderator :}
 
Jared Caldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 2,289
Send a message via Skype™ to Jared Caldwell
Default

I just viewing buying the fixed as buying one of the most badass zoom lenses for the price. If you look at it that way, you can get the 2/3" Cinema, miniPrimes, and the fixed lens for your zoom.

:}
Jared Caldwell is offline  
 

Tags
interchangable, scarlet fixed lens, upgrade, upgrade to interchangable

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Landmine Media, Inc.