Scarletuser.com
 

Go Back   Scarletuser.com > Scarlet DSMC > Scarlet General Discussion > Scarlet FIXED Lens System Discussion

 
 
Bookmark and Share Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2008, 10:23 AM   #1
Cedric_Akins
Native
 
Cedric_Akins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Memphis, Tennessee
Posts: 399
Default Image Stabilizing

Just curious about image stabilization. I am wondering if the fixed lens will have image stabilization or not. I hope it will. If it does we all could agree that OIS would be best, but I would be willing to at least settling to settle for EIS.

Please RED Team give us some type of image stabilization on all of the cameras fixed lens and interchangable lenses.
__________________
Make today your best even if you don't make the day.

www.avamproductions.com
Cedric_Akins is offline  
Old 11-19-2008, 12:45 PM   #2
Peter Majtan
Native
 
Peter Majtan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Japan, USA, New Zealand
Posts: 4,714
Send a message via Skype™ to Peter Majtan
Default

Check carefully the posted specs...
__________________
You don't need eyes to see, You need a vision!

Scarlet-X Ti Canon mount and Epic-X Ti PL mount complete packages with optics, sound and post available - also with special rates for documentaries and independent feature films...
Peter Majtan is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 08:59 AM   #3
Bryan Arnold
Native
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 743
Default

From what I recall, I believe it was Peter who revealed this to me, EIS is not possible with RAW data. At least not if you want to keep it RAW. Maybe with the RGB option? I wonder about the processing power needed for 3K though..
Bryan Arnold is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 12:32 PM   #4
Peter Majtan
Native
 
Peter Majtan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Japan, USA, New Zealand
Posts: 4,714
Send a message via Skype™ to Peter Majtan
Default

Dead-on Syndrum. Besides RED is all about the state-of-the-art. EIS won't cut it. With so many K's You can do EIS in post...
__________________
You don't need eyes to see, You need a vision!

Scarlet-X Ti Canon mount and Epic-X Ti PL mount complete packages with optics, sound and post available - also with special rates for documentaries and independent feature films...
Peter Majtan is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 12:46 PM   #5
Pietro Impagliazzo
Native
 
Pietro Impagliazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rio de Janeiro, BR
Posts: 2,363
Send a message via Skype™ to Pietro Impagliazzo
Default

But if the camera suddenly moves up, there's motion blur.

If you stabilize it, there will be motion blur and the image will be still, that's a weird effect.

But It can work quite effectively If you're shooting some action sequence with high shutter speed and wants to make things a little bit less chaotical.
__________________

Acintyah khalu ye bhava na tams tarkena yojayet
There's no use arguing over that which is inconceivable


Pietro Impagliazzo
vimeo.com/impa
impagliazzo.500px.com
Pietro Impagliazzo is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 12:59 PM   #6
Peter Majtan
Native
 
Peter Majtan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Japan, USA, New Zealand
Posts: 4,714
Send a message via Skype™ to Peter Majtan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Impagliazzo View Post
But if the camera suddenly moves up, there's motion blur.

If you stabilize it, there will be motion blur and the image will be still, that's a weird effect.

But It can work quite effectively If you're shooting some action sequence with high shutter speed and wants to make things a little bit less chaotical.
There are tool that take care of that, for example Furnace from the Foundry:



http://www.thefoundry.co.uk/pkg_plug...D-3A8059449900

Peter
__________________
You don't need eyes to see, You need a vision!

Scarlet-X Ti Canon mount and Epic-X Ti PL mount complete packages with optics, sound and post available - also with special rates for documentaries and independent feature films...
Peter Majtan is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 05:32 PM   #7
Stefan Christou
Native
 
Stefan Christou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brixton, London, UK
Posts: 31,515
Default

the foundry amaze me more and more every day
__________________
Knowledge is power

stefanchristou.com ... stefan8
Stefan Christou is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 01:22 AM   #8
johnvid
Native
 
johnvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 2,918
Default

But an optical IS would be nice to have in the fixed lens. I had to steadymove some stuff recently and it was taking about 30hours for 20min HD, the blur removal in the furnace software looks better than steadymove though.
__________________
www.videopool.co.uk
johnvid is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 01:59 AM   #9
Peter Majtan
Native
 
Peter Majtan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Japan, USA, New Zealand
Posts: 4,714
Send a message via Skype™ to Peter Majtan
Default

Nothing can truly replace OIS. You can bet on the selected RED lenses to have OIS. OIS will greatly complement gyros and post EIS. But in-camera EIS just makes no sense...

Peter
__________________
You don't need eyes to see, You need a vision!

Scarlet-X Ti Canon mount and Epic-X Ti PL mount complete packages with optics, sound and post available - also with special rates for documentaries and independent feature films...
Peter Majtan is offline  
Old 11-27-2008, 03:30 AM   #10
Max Link
Native
 
Max Link's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 208
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Majtan View Post
There are tool that take care of that, for example Furnace from the Foundry:



http://www.thefoundry.co.uk/pkg_plug...D-3A8059449900

Peter
Incredible what Furnace offers... makes me regret sticking with Adobe - AE not a supported Furnace host as I see it.
But, if I remember correctly, there is a tool to use After Effects plug ins in Final Cut - Is there something that lets you "wrap" plug-ins for another host, e.g. Furnace for Avid, to AE?
Max Link is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Landmine Media, Inc.