Scarletuser.com
 

Go Back   Scarletuser.com > Scarlet DSMC > Build-a-Scarlet

 
 
Bookmark and Share Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2012, 05:12 PM   #1
shankeith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Default Media Question

so im just breaking down the costs so i can pick up a scarlet soon

im looking at the different media options:
you have both cf or ssd

whats the speed differences if any? are there any differences?
and is there any difference between a highspeed cf card (eg. sandisk) vs a red card that you find on the red website for sale?

is the cf module built in or thats something seperate i have to purchase seperately just like the ssd module?

thanks guys
shankeith is offline  
Old 03-07-2012, 06:20 PM   #2
Harrison Diamond
Native
 
Harrison Diamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 325
Default

CF is not available for Scarlet.
SSD is your only option.
__________________
Harrison Diamond
Scarlet-X PL-Mount #1077
Harrison Diamond is offline  
Old 06-15-2012, 11:27 AM   #3
oliverbowhill
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Default

I am sure this has been asked before but is there an alternative to buying the expensive Redmag's?

Am i correct in thinking that any 1.8" SSD would fit and work?

Thanks
oliverbowhill is offline  
Old 06-15-2012, 12:59 PM   #4
DrewIGR
Native
 
DrewIGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oliverbowhill View Post
I am sure this has been asked before but is there an alternative to buying the expensive Redmag's?

Am i correct in thinking that any 1.8" SSD would fit and work?

Thanks
That is incorrect. REDMAGs are proprietary and in RED's own casing. They are expensive, but you only have to spend the $$ once and they retain their value pretty well if you ever sell. Also, you can rent more cards if you ever need for bigger jobs.
__________________
Scarlet-X #776 "Peffercorn"
www.andrewscottbaird.com
DrewIGR is offline  
Old 06-15-2012, 01:45 PM   #5
johnvid
Native
 
johnvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 2,918
Default

It's not a design flaw, its a feature, if you want to use normal SSD's there's a camera being built around that simple concept.
__________________
www.videopool.co.uk
johnvid is offline  
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Landmine Media, Inc.