PDA

View Full Version : Image Stabilizing


Cedric_Akins
11-19-2008, 09:23 AM
Just curious about image stabilization. I am wondering if the fixed lens will have image stabilization or not. I hope it will. If it does we all could agree that OIS would be best, but I would be willing to at least settling to settle for EIS.

Please RED Team give us some type of image stabilization on all of the cameras fixed lens and interchangable lenses.

Peter Majtan
11-19-2008, 11:45 AM
Check carefully the posted specs... :D

Bryan Arnold
11-23-2008, 07:59 AM
From what I recall, I believe it was Peter who revealed this to me, EIS is not possible with RAW data. At least not if you want to keep it RAW. Maybe with the RGB option? I wonder about the processing power needed for 3K though..

Peter Majtan
11-23-2008, 11:32 AM
Dead-on Syndrum. Besides RED is all about the state-of-the-art. EIS won't cut it. With so many K's You can do EIS in post... :D

Pietro Impagliazzo
11-23-2008, 11:46 AM
But if the camera suddenly moves up, there's motion blur.

If you stabilize it, there will be motion blur and the image will be still, that's a weird effect.

But It can work quite effectively If you're shooting some action sequence with high shutter speed and wants to make things a little bit less chaotical.

Peter Majtan
11-23-2008, 11:59 AM
But if the camera suddenly moves up, there's motion blur.

If you stabilize it, there will be motion blur and the image will be still, that's a weird effect.

But It can work quite effectively If you're shooting some action sequence with high shutter speed and wants to make things a little bit less chaotical.

There are tool that take care of that, for example Furnace from the Foundry:

http://www.derylgroup.com/downloads/DERYL/REFERENCE/F_DeBlur.jpg

http://www.thefoundry.co.uk/pkg_plugins.aspx?ui=44213E51-76C0-4926-9D5D-3A8059449900

:D Peter

Stefan Christou
11-23-2008, 04:32 PM
the foundry amaze me more and more every day

johnvid
11-24-2008, 12:22 AM
But an optical IS would be nice to have in the fixed lens. I had to steadymove some stuff recently and it was taking about 30hours for 20min HD, the blur removal in the furnace software looks better than steadymove though.

Peter Majtan
11-24-2008, 12:59 AM
Nothing can truly replace OIS. You can bet on the selected RED lenses to have OIS. OIS will greatly complement gyros and post EIS. But in-camera EIS just makes no sense...

:D Peter

Max Link
11-27-2008, 02:30 AM
There are tool that take care of that, for example Furnace from the Foundry:

http://www.derylgroup.com/downloads/DERYL/REFERENCE/F_DeBlur.jpg

http://www.thefoundry.co.uk/pkg_plugins.aspx?ui=44213E51-76C0-4926-9D5D-3A8059449900

:D Peter
Incredible what Furnace offers... makes me regret sticking with Adobe - AE not a supported Furnace host as I see it.
But, if I remember correctly, there is a tool to use After Effects plug ins in Final Cut - Is there something that lets you "wrap" plug-ins for another host, e.g. Furnace for Avid, to AE?